First Nation Advisory Committee

The Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board recognizes the importance of working in partnership with our First Nations community to improve outcomes for our First Nation, Inuit and Metis students. The Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board First Nation Advisory Committee (FNAC) was first established in 2004. Our committee meets three times per year.

Role and Responsibilities

  • Develop and increase the cultural awareness of our Catholic Board community through professional development and sharing of best practices.

  • Develop and enhance partnerships with communities that support Indigenous students, including parent engagement.

  • Advocate for the needs of Indigenous students.

  • Provide input on Board Indigenous Education initiatives to improve achievement for Indigenous learners.

  • Develop leadership capacity at all levels in the area of Indigenous Education (Board, School, Classroom).

Committee Members

The committee is comprised of representatives from our Indigenous community, Board of Trustees, Senior Administration, principal representatives and community members.

Name Position / Representing

Mike Sawyer

Trustee (Chair)

Samantha Andrusiek

English Catholic Curriculum Coordinator

Derek Belanger

Principal of St. Joseph-Scollard Hall

Marianne Daur

North Bay Indigenous Friendship Center

Leo de Jourdan


Audrey Gribbons

Assistant Superintendent of Education

Barbara McCool


Stacey Malette

Principal of Our Lady of Sorrows

Paula Mann

Director of Education

Jordan Mowat

Indigenous Graduation Coach

Daniel Stevens

Nipissing First Nation

Susan Wardell

Principal of Our Lady of Fatima

Jody Weller

Indigenous Education Lead/Superintendent of Education

John Willemsen

Trustee (alternate)

Committee Meetings

Our Partners

Union of Ontario Indians

North Bay Indian Friendship Centre

North Bay Indian Friendship Centre