de Jourdan Chair, McCool Vice-Chair

de Jourdan Acclaimed Chair, McCool Re-Elected Vice-Chair
Posted on 12/18/2019
Board of Trustees

At its organizational meeting on Tuesday December 17, the Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board appointed by acclamation, Leo de Jourdan as Chair and re-elected Barbara McCool as Vice-Chair. 

Leo de Jourdan has been a Trustee with the Board from 1998-2003, from 2013-2014, and again since December 2018.  He has served on various statutory committees during his tenure and currently serves as a member of the Audit Committee.

Barbara McCool has served as Trustee with the Board for over 40 years, having first been elected as a Trustee in 1977. McCool was Chair of the Board from 1999-2000, from 2002-2004, and again between 2009 and November 2018. She has been involved in many initiatives during her tenure, previously serving as both member and chair of the NPSC Special Education Advisory Committee.

Trustees Jacques Bégin (East and South of the City of North Bay), Shawn Fitzsimmons (North Bay), Linda Jamieson (North Bay), Judy Manitowabi (Nipissing First Nations), and John Willemsen (West Nipissing) also serve on the Board.

“This is a great honour and I am humbled by the trust that you have placed in me” said de Jourdan.“I will continue to carry on strong advocacy for our system and the Catholic values found woven throughout all aspects of our schools and student experiences” he said.

The Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board serves approximately 2900 students in 11 elementary schools across North Bay, West Nipissing, Mattawa, Powassan and Callander, and St. Joseph-Scollard Hall Catholic Secondary School and St. Joseph Adult Education campus, in North Bay.